The Sky Moves Sideways

The Sky Moves Sideways is the third studio album by Porcupine Tree, first released in January 1995. The Sky Moves Sideways has been compared to Pink Floyd's Wish You Were Here because of their similar structure; both albums have extended pieces at the beginning and end, which are the halves of a single song.
The Sky Moves Sideways was the first Porcupine Tree album to be released in the US (albeit with an altered track list), and the first on which Porcupine Tree was actually a band rather than simply a pseudonym for Steven Wilson.

The Sky Moves Sideways Tracklist

1. The Sky Moves Sideways Phase 1
I. The Colour of Air
II. I Find That I'm Not There
III. Wire the Drum
IV. Spiral Circus
2. Dislocated Day
3. The Moon Touches Your Shoulder
4. Prepare Yourself
5. Moonloop"
6. The Sky Moves Sideways Phase 2
I. Is...Not
II. Off the Map

The Sky Moves Sideways Credits

Porcupine Tree

Steven Wilson: vocals, guitar; keyboards, tapes, programming and mix engineer
Colin Edwin: bass
Richard Barbieri: keyboards; electronics, programming
Chris Maitland: drums

Additional musicians

Ricky Edwards: additional percussion
Theo Travis: flute on “The Sky Moves Sideways Phase 1”
Suzanne J. Barbieri: vocals on “The Sky Moves Sideways Phase 2”
Gavin Harrison – drums on “Dislocated Day” and “Moon Touches Your Shoulder” (2004 expanded remaster only)

"Sometimes it's only afterwards, I find that I'm not there..."