On The Sunday of Life

On the Sunday of Life is the debut album by Porcupine Tree, first released in July 1992. It compiles tracks that Steven Wilson produced and recorded for two cassette-only releases, Tarquin’s Seaweed Farm (1989) and The Nostalgia Factory (1991). The rest of the music from these tapes was released three years after in the compilation album Yellow Hedgerow Dreamscape.
Most of the lyrics were written by Alan Duffy, a school friend with whom Steven Wilson had lost touch a few years before the album was released. The album title was chosen from a long list of nonsense titles compiled by Richard Allen of Delerium.

On The Sunday of Life... Tracklist

1. Music for the Head (2:42)
2. Jupiter Island (6:12)
3. Third Eye Surfer (2:50)
4. On the Sunday of Life... (2:07)
5. The Nostalgia Factory (7:28)
6. Space Transmission (2:59)
7. Message from a Self-Destructing Turnip (0:27)
8. Radioactive Toy (10:00) 
9. Nine Cats (3:53)
10. Hymn (1:14)
11. Footprints (5:56)
12. Linton Samuel Dawson (3:04)
13. And the Swallows Dance Above the Sun (4:05)
14. Queen Quotes Crowley (3:48)
15. No Luck with Rabbits (0:46)
16. Begonia Seduction Scene (2:14)
17. This Long Silence (5:05)
18. It Will Rain for a Million Years (10:51)

On The Sunday of Life... Credits

Steven Wilson – vocals, all other instruments, production

John Marshall – drums on “Third Eye Surfer”
Solomon St. Jemain – additional guitar & voice on “Queen Quotes Crowley”
Master Timothy Masters – oboe

"Give me, the freedom to destroy. Give me, a Radioactive Toy"