Deadwing is the eighth studio album by Porcupine Tree, released on 28 March 2005. The album is based on a screenplay written by Steven Wilson and Mike Bennion, and is essentially a ghost story. Wilson had expressed the intention to eventually have this film script made into a movie.

The album produced two singles, “Shallow” and “Lazarus”. The album also produced three music videos for “Lazarus”, “Start of Something Beautiful”, and “Glass Arm Shattering”

The album includes collaborations with King Crimson’s Adrian Belew, who plays guitar solos on the title track “Deadwing” and “Halo”, and Opeth’s Mikael Åkerfeldt, who adds vocal harmonies on “Deadwing”, “Lazarus”, and “Arriving Somewhere But Not Here”. He also plays the second guitar solo on “Arriving Somewhere But Not Here”.

Deadwing Tracklist

  1. Deadwing
  2. Shallow
  3. Lazarus
  4. Halo
  5. Arriving Somewhere But Not Here
  6. Mellotron Scratch
  7. Open Car
  8. The Start of Something Beautiful
  9. Glass Arm Shattering

Deadwing Production Credits:

Produced By Steven Wilson, Richard Barbieri & Gavin Harrison
Recorded & Engineered By Paul Northfield & George Schilling
Mixed By Steven Wilson
Mastered By Andy VanDette
5.1 Producer: Jeff Levison
5.1 Mixed By: Elliot Scheiner
5.1 Mastered By Darsy Proper at Sony Studios

Porcupine Tree

Steven Wilson – vocals, guitars, piano, keyboards, hammered dulcimer, bass guitar on 1,3,5 (middle section), 7
Richard Barbieri – keyboards and synthesizers
Colin Edwin – bass guitar
Gavin Harrison – drums and percussion

Additional musicians

Mikael Åkerfeldt (Opeth) – Backing vocals on tracks 1, 3, 5 & 10; Second guitar solo on 5
Adrian Belew (King Crimson) – Solo guitar on 1,4